My adventure to achieve a healthy weight!

Ugali: (corn mush, similar to grits with a thicker consistency)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of fine-grind Cornmeal
  • 2 cups of water

Instructions:

  1. Combine in a pot on the stove
  2. Boil until the mixture has reached a thick consistency and will not slide out of the pot if you tip it.
Zigni: (a traditional spice stew)
Ingredients for stew:
  • 1 block of extra firm tofu
  • 1 large white onion
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 1 large can of crushed or diced tomatoes
Spice mix (berbere):
  • 1 tablespoon of paprika
  • 1 tablespoon of cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
Instructions
  1. Pan fry onions with a bit of chopped garlic and oil. Add tofu and peppers, cook until peppers are soft and tofu is warmed through.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of the spice mixture (less if you don’t want it too hot, more if you like some good heat. I used about 2 and 1/2 tablespoons, and I like good hot food)
  3. Mix it up, add the can of tomatoes.
  4. Let it simmer until it has reached your desired consistency, serve overtop of some ugali!!
Enjoy 🙂 This is a healthy, balanced, protein rich and low-fat meal. It’s also really filling and delish!!!!
Comments on: "Zigni with Ugali (traditional African Meal gone Veg)" (3)

  1. I loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this stuff!!!!!!! I am so jealous!!!! Thx for sharing recipe though. I want to make it soon!

  2. I made it today but I had to add salt to get it to taste like it did on your birthday. Then again, I don’t think the beets I put in did it any favours…

    • That recipe was me trying to remember all the spices. There are some other ones, and those weren’t exact proportions. I’ll update it later (when I’m not so lazy as to continue sitting here).

Leave a Reply

